Post-surgical news

So, surgery was Thursday and I hate to say I underestimated the pain associated with a laproscopic procedure.  I also realized after the fact that I should have informed the anesthesiologist of how quickly I come-to after surgery.  I woke up while still in the OR!  And of course, they weren’t expecting me to so they had no pain medications in the room with them. Safe to say that was a 12 of the pain scale.

For those of you that don’t know, I had what’s called a salpingectomy, which is the removal of both fallopian tubes.  It is becoming more of a typical practice in preventing ovarian cancers, which you can read about here, here, here, and here.  It’s a single-incision surgery going through the belly button, and it should only last 45 minutes.  They ran into a problem when they spotted something odd on my right ovary and had to run some tests to see if they should take that along with the tubes.  They ended up leaving it but the procedure took about 2 hours with that delay.

I had assumed it wasn’t going to be one of those “knock you on your a**” surgeries but I was wrong.  I spent the rest of Thursday, all day Friday, and the majority of Saturday cuddling a bottle of Percocet and binge watching Gilmore Girls on Netflix.  Not Saturday night, though!

That was the Detroit Red Wings game I’d been looking forward too since May! They invited myself plus 3 guests to their Breast Cancer Awareness night at the Joe followed by a post game meet-n-greet with the team.  I got to bring my sister, one of my best friends, and my boyfriend with me to one of my favorite places in the world!  Despite the loss, we had a great time cheering on our team, and got a nice surprise when we showed up and realized I was on the cover of the calendar they were handing out!

10479720_10203690103508020_8234438371577543718_n

It was great to see Jimmy again and catch up since we haven’t seen each other since my birthday back in August.  He’s such a genuine and good guy and I become prouder and prouder to be his fan every passing day.

vRucb_vAT240wub9DrKXEZje2wz2MlcYJ38NJHbilSw

That’s what’s new in my life!  Flying outta Michigan this weekend for some super secret Pink&Blue filming.  Until then, I’m going to sit back and slowly come down from my adrenaline rush that was Saturday night.

Lots of love to everyone!

2014-10-11 22.37.29-2

Leave a Reply

