You can’t make everybody happy. You’re not a Nutella jar.

2014-09-20 13.21.52

I’ve stumbled upon this picture multiple times the past week and I giggle whenever I see it.  It’s so fitting too, to the post I’ve been toying with writing.  I’ve wanted to share some of the better ignorant and flat out stupid comments I’ve received in the wake of being in the public eye after my mastectomy.  One thing I don’t want people to think, however, is that these comments affected me in any way.  On the contrary, they made me laugh, and sometimes they made me pity those that were saying them.  So I thought I’d share some of the more laughable ones with you and my thoughts towards them.

“RIP to that glorious rack”
Sorry your love life sucks, bro.

“You’re such a pretty girl, why would you want to change that?”
This one came a while back, I actually have a full blog post devoted to it.  Still one of my favorites.

“She just had the surgery because she has PTSD from her mother’s death”
This one is hilarious because it was on a facebook post of an article about my surgery and mutation.  He must’ve not read it at all.  I have a gene mutation from my mother.  Not PTSD.

“She just did it for the free boob job”
At the time of my mastectomy, I was  20 year old woman with DD breasts.  In what universe would I need a boob job?

“Might as well kiss her dating life goodbye”
Tell that to my boyfriend, who met me 2 weeks after my mastectomy.

“Such a shame to lose those glorious funbags”
Sorry for the crass language, but this is a quote.  Yes, such a shame I will live a long, healthy life.

“She’s not brave for having the mastectomy.  She’d be brave if she didn’t get reconstruction.”
What? How? What even? That makes no sense.  I still had my breasts cut off, and endured a second surgery along with the expansion process because mainstream society is so breast-obsessed I didn’t want to have to deal with having a flat chest.

“Why is she being praised for mutilating herself? We don’t clap for cutters”
…. … .. . wat

“She should’ve just changed her diet to avoid the cancer risk. Become a vegetarian.”
1- I’ve been a vegetarian for 12 years. 2- My DNA is my DNA. You can’t re-write it, I am still missing a sequence of genetic material on the 17th chromosome that protects my body against breast and ovarian cancers.  Eating green leafy vegetables isn’t going to replace it.

“Removing her breasts was selfish.  What about her kids? Now they won’t get breastmilk”
Calling me selfish because my hypothetical future children won’t get my personal boob juice? Oy!  Not that formula isn’t an option (it is, and I’ll utilize it) there is a wonderful organization called humanmilk4humanbabies that I plan on working with when the time comes.

“She’s just an Angelina Jolie wannabe”
Right. I love Angelina SO MUCH that I removed part of my body to be JUST LIKE HER.

That’s enough negativity.  I don’t view it as negativity, though.  I view it as comedy.  I’m forever grateful for the fact that throughout this whole  journey, I’ve never had hesitations.  I know that every single thing I do is motivated by my desire to live and to live happily.  I just wish all of the people who’ve decided to take time out of their day to attempt to bring me down experience the same peace of mind that I have one day. Until next time, xoxo Kelly

7 thoughts on “You can’t make everybody happy. You’re not a Nutella jar.

  1. ESP! I just blogged about my p/t consult on Friday – got two great comments from the same woman (woman!): “Did you talk to more than one doctor before having surgery? Are you sure you really needed to? You’re just so young.” AND “Oh you poor thing, your scars are so big.” Um. Duh?

  2. I hate people, honestly. Right before surgery, my HR rep at work asked me if I was concerned that it would be difficult to find a husband now. Yes, that’s my biggest concern right now. Not the impending major surgery.

  3. People are so rude. One of the things I have really taken from my own personal BRCA2 experience is that I have no right to judge others on their lives, because I don’t know what it feels like to be going through whatever they are going through. I wish more people would think like that :/

  4. Reblogged this on through the eyes of ashley and commented:
    I am certain I will get some funny comments as well on this decision, so before it starts I have to share this! It is too good and made me laugh. I am fully aware that everyone has their own opinion but what in the world are some of these people saying/thinking? I will pray for you all.. xoxo, Ashley!

  5. Good for you! I too received ridiculous comments and you just CANT listen to them. I think people are so overwhelmed by our strength that they don’t know how to act, so keep that close to you, you are STRONG!

Leave a Reply

