Last day of being magnetic!

YES. So excited. In roughly 24 hours I will be under the knife again for the second and final surgery of the mastectomy process. Out comes the rock hard and metal tissue expanders, in goes the permanent implants. I’m so looking forward to being able to sleep on my stomach again once I’m all healed up.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Not looking forward to the drains and recovery though. Last time around the ‘no hugging or cuddling’ rule wasn’t such a big deal, but with a new special person in my life the no-contact thing is gonna suck for a while. I like hugging, I’m an incredibly touchy-feely person. But the ‘hands off’ rule is just temporary. I’ll have to get and give lots of open-arm hugs to make up for it. And maybe some bunny cuddles, Howie is good at that.

Other updates? It’s been a month since I’ve been on the fertility drugs and I still called a tomato a watermelon the other day. I swear, my brain turned into scrambled eggs. Hopefully I’ll stop missing freeway exits and putting my shirts on backwards soon enough.

I also spoke at the Oakland County Making Strides Against Breast Cancer kickoff event last night. I love doing that. I love sharing my story and educating the world on BRCA and preventative medicine. I also made a team for the walk, which is this October.  Any metro-Detroit friends (or even strangers that want to be friends) feel free to join my team! There is no minimum fundraising requirement. Here’s the link to donate and join.  My team name is “Kelly’s Bomb Squad”.

I have a press conference one week from today to discuss the final outcome of the reconstruction. I think I’ll touch base on the fertility stuff as well as PGD (preimplantation genetic diagnosis) because so many people don’t know it’s an option. Not looking forward to the negative comments I may get from ignorant people, though. But such is life. I’m the one that will be smiling and raising healthy kids in the long run.

So until then, I’m spending my last night of full-mobility catching my first Tigers game and giving lots of hugs.

Leave a Reply

