Let the games begin

August is going to be c r a z y (though nothing compared to October, 7 speeches, including some out of state). I’ve been able to relax the past week and just prepare for the coming circus. Let’s see, I have to map this out for my own benefit…

This coming week, I’m going to lunch with Jimmy Howard (because he wants to catch up with me. Oh. My. His “thank you for making my dream come true holy crap I still can’t believe it” gift is pictured below)

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Less exciting things happening this week? I turn 21, work 20 hours, meet with my gyno-onc to schedule the salpingectomy, and move out of my house in Ann Arbor (just to move to a house a few blocks away in 3 weeks).

Next week? Finish moving, I have my first speech of the season, press conference, and the second and final surgery of the mastectomy process! I’m so excited for that though, goodbye rock-hard and uncomfortable foobs, hello to natural-looking and hopefully natural-feeling McBoobs!

The following week? My baby brother AND sister move into their freshman year dorms at their respective colleges. Hoping I have my drains out by then so I can come along for the ride and watch from the sidelines as the fam does all the heavy lifting. Then a post-op appointment, and if I’m feeling up to it a weekend camping adventure!

Then the next? Moving into the new house,and an interview with a cable access show in metro Detroit.

Somewhere in that cluster of events I’ll be having my fallopian tubes removed as well. Oy! Glad I had the chance to get away for a couple of days and cross something off of my bucket list.
1010191_10203186616041148_6277413631393853190_n

Beautiful Niagara Falls, Canada. We took a boat tour (definitely the highlight), went to the top of the Skylon Tower, ate overpriced Italian food, saw Adam Sandler, walked down Clifton Hills Street, saw the Falls at night with the color-changing lights and pitched a tent at a nearby campground. It was wonderful. The boat tour alone made the 10 hour round trip drive worth it (I sat shotgun the whole way, so the driver may have something else to say about that).

It was awe-inspiring. Several times throughout the day I had to take a pause, close my eyes, smile, and appreciate it. The happiness I felt. It was one of my best days.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Now that vacation is over, let the games begin.

Leave a Reply

