I had no idea.

I’m 3 weeks post op! Some fun facts-

  • My ‘foobs’ are rocks. Chest bump me and you’ll break your collarbone.
  • I have no feeling in the place where my boobs once were (as expected, nerves were cut)
  • I set off metal detectors in most stores courtesy of the magnetic port in my tissue expanders (which was annoying at first but now I get a good laugh out of it)
  • When I drink a cold glass of water the saline in my expanders gets cold too.
  • I had my second fill today, so now I have 260cc of saline in each. 200cc more to go!
  • I’m enjoying not having to wear a bra. It’s opened so many new wardrobe options.

I’m sure there are more, but I’m writing this at 1am and my mind is going blank.

Complaints? I miss my kiddos! Super cool that my only complaint is that I want to go back to work.

Updates? I feel great. People are shocked by how well I’m doing, including myself.  I have some limitations when it comes to my range of motion and I still get tired quicker than I used to, but considering what the surgery involved, it’s almost frightening just how well I’m doing… So what’s the explanation? Why am I recovering so well?  My age, of course, but more than that- I don’t have cancer.  My body isn’t already fighting a battle.  I am so grateful for that.

I am so grateful for the opportunity to live a full life without fear.  I’m grateful that I have the inner strength to face the challenges presented to me with humor and a positive attitude.  I’m grateful for the opportunity to inspire those that may need a shoulder to lean on.

I am grateful for so many things. I’m constantly blown away when I’m asked for another interview, or asked to speak at an event, or hugged by a stranger in the grocery store.  Every time I’m asked to share my story I’m given another opportunity to empower, educate, and inspire. I feel like the luckiest gal in the world.

 

“I had no idea it would be this much.
I had no idea I could handle it.
I had no idea how beautiful it all actually is.”

-Tyler Knott Gregson

10415664_10202718137409475_5827004298175754307_n

 

2 thoughts on “I had no idea.

Leave a Reply

